CREATING THE TEMPLATE
Templates are manageable by company administrators only and are not attached to a specific business entity (hub or client/tenant)
In Dashboard overview when you click on Show templates button on the top right corner all the existing Templates will appear.
- We can create our own Template just like when we create a new dashboard by clicking on the plus sign
- We go to an existing Dashboard and on the top right corner click on Template and Create template from
Once we created a Template it can be seen on all of the Tenants on the current stack.
The system will automatically name the created Template/Dashboard as below but we can rename it as well.
To rename the Template/Dashboard name simply open it, click on the title and add a new name.
ADDING A NEW DASHBOARD FROM A TEMPLATE
Once Template is created we can create a Dashboard out of it when we open the Template and choose Template > Create connected dashboard
Now all of the widgets which have been created on the Template appear in the connected Dashboard(s).
To check which Dashboards are connected to the Template we open Template and click on Template > Show connected Dashboards
OVERWRITING CONNECTED DASHBOARDS TO A TEMPLATE
When you make changes to your Template and you want to update the connected Dashboards as well, you need to overwrite them by going in your Template > Overwrite connected dashboards so all of the dashboards will get updates with changes. But the widgets existing only in the Dashboard will disappear as the Template overwrites them accordingly.
APPLY CHANGES TO CONNECTED DASHBOARDS
Once a visualization was updated on the Template the "Apply changes" button is available. This will apply the changes from the visualization to all connected dashboard widgets - apart filters. This soft synchronization will not update anything else - like dashboard layout, widget titles, added or removed widgets, etc.
DISCONNECTING DASHBOARD FROM TEMPLATE
You can tell whether a Dashboard is connected to a Template if this symbol can be seen next to the name of the Dashboard:
If the Dashboard is disconnected from a Template it will still contain the widgets that were previously created, although it will not be updated anymore from the Template.
To disconnect Dashboard from Template we need to go to the Dashboard and click on the Template > Disconnect from Template.